Skip to content

Garden Shed Kit Home

December 24, 2010
Mayas' shed house

Hello all. I’ve been away for awhile – I’ve started many projects that met with dead ends and I’ve put them on the back burner for awhile. I had the thought last night – why not post these home design dead ends and see what you think. After all they all meet the criteria of “not going anywhere” (at least for the moment).
I stumble apoun a very attractive tiny structure/home at Mayaland http://mayalassiter.com/2009/01/how-to-recycle-a-tiny-house-day-five

I had commented on Mayas’ blog that this tiny home structure had a perfect passive solar design with a shallow depth of 12′  (north to south). It had a large southern exposure window walls and the roof sloped down to the north side to shed cold winter northernly wind.

Since this little structure was perfect little home I decide to make changes to it to make it more “perfecter” – or a least to make it a good tiny home design for me.   I wanted it to be a longer structure – I made it 20′ x 12′ . The model looked good but I think in the finale draft I will add another 4′  to the length – a panel section with out a window on the west side of the glass door. Apart from giving me more floor plan space it will give me room to put a kitchen ( and counter space) along the west wall with a small bathroom ( or water closet for my British readers) on the back north wall.  This

set up will also protect the home from heating up when the summer sun falls in the west.  I also add a spiffy roll up, RV

awning to the design – bringing it out past the west wall to further protect from over heating in summer and the roll out shade would make sure to keep things cool.

I added a large window on the southwest wall – this would warm the home up in the winter afternoon sun – this window has a roller shutter that can be rolled forward to cover this window in summer afternoons.

I am also attempting to make this a panelized design with

galvanized, corrugated steel with 2′ x 6′ cedar planks bolted to the edges to make it easy to construct and disassemble the house so it can be easily move.  My thinking is that once the structure is bolted together the top “loft” floor and roof can be taken apart – the bottom floor can stay together – place a 12′x24′ roof section over this and you can move the bottom floor in one piece, making it fairly easy to move. I am still working on the panel sections and the celestial window for the loft needs some work.

I would love to hear some feedback on this design, I think it would make for a very attractive and efficient small home design system.

Thank you for your time.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2011 11:38 am

    Your design, colors and materials are really crisp. Do you use a custom material set in Sketchup or did you add that in Photoshop? Any advice for getting that look?

  2. December 8, 2011 12:15 pm

    “eye dropper” icon and then click any color in your model and your straw bale wall will match the color you clicked on. You can spend some time while you are working on your model messing around with the “shade” control bar and the color wheel to finely tune things. For me, a light, reddish, terracotta color works the best for this for the earthen wall.
    Don’t be afraid to mess around with it and have fun – I never worry about screwing up the model because I like starting a new model if the old one isn’t going anywhere – the second or third models come a lot easier with all the knowledge you’ve gained from the mistakes you make in the earlier models.
    It take time just like anything but you need to enjoy the process – it works for me.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

