Skip to content

Putter or die – or – You and your wacky Sketch-up projects that don’t go anywhere

March 2, 2010

My first post to an egregiously unwieldy blog. I hope to get things under control here in the next couple of months. I am hoping to build this blog into a “clearing house” for my many design ideas that I’ve tried to visually with the very user friendly 3D. modeling design tool “Google Sketch-up”.

I’ve never been very interested in video games but Sketch-up has taken up as much of my spare time as video gaming does of avid gamers but the  time I spent building various models has felt like time well spent. I have spent weeks writing small novels to explain my design ideas in the dark ages before S.U. – now I can take a few hours to create a model that can better explain my ideas. The most awesome thing about this 3D. model program is that – all those ideas that I have had in my noggin, fussing over the smallest detail while I nod off to sleep – a couple of hours with S.U. and there it is!!! I’ve always been interested in geodesic domes – I spent 3 hours learning geodesic math at the sketch-up geodesic help site and within a day I am building a plethora of dome home models – cloging up my pals e-mail inbox’s with more jpeg dome images then they could possibly ask for ( not that they where asking) .

Well, I hope I can find a conversation here on what you think of my designs – what works and what doesn’t (maybe my grade eight English teacher; Miss Hands, will correct my grammar – “A dash is a poor substitute for proper punctuation.”)  – maybe I will inspire you to work on ideas of your own – I would love to hear it.

Until my next “real” blog post….

Bye for now.

Craig

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Bob permalink
    March 17, 2010 1:33 pm

    Craig:

    This design appears to be just asking to be placed into the face of a hill. Could this structure go “underground”?

  2. March 17, 2010 2:11 pm

    Thank you for posting your thoughts Bob.
    I am always happy for the opportunity to discuss design ideas here ( it’s my break so I will be keeping my reply somewhat brief here because of time restraints.

    It could. I designed this small house to have a sloping sod roof that would drain back and down a hill ( to the north). This particular design has 4’x6′ square tubing welded to the top of the container to support the sod roof – I have seen many shipping container homes buried into the side of the hill. I worry about drainage and I like Mike Oehler’s ideas on building inexpensive underground homes. http://www.undergroundhousing.com/ . His most important thought on putting a house under a green roof – build it on the side of a hill – have the house facing up the hill – the roof sloping back and down ( matching the slope of the hill) – dig terraced landings in front of the house to allow rain and ground water to drain before the hill ( you don’t want water running down the hill and into the house). Mike calls this the “Up stairs Patio” which is will be planted with greenery and vegetation ( perfect for a garden) – his system of posts and board and poly. sheets will hold the terraces in place with the help of the root systems of the planted greenery and the poly. sheets will help in protecting the home from water damage. His book: ” The Fifty Dollar and Up Underground House Book” will explain this better and I highly recommend it. His book has many brilliant ideas on underground houses ( and I found it to be quite funny in places – he’s got a dry sense of humor). I had design this container house idea with many of his ideas in mind. I had made a 20′ high “upstairs patio” in front of this model and about 50′ hill sloping down behind it – it’s my biggest Sketch-up model and is quite impressive (if I do say so myself) but it is so large that I have problems with the program crashing when I open it ( so much for ambition).
    I hope to pull this gem out again sometime this summer to do some work on to publish it here on the blog. I will most likely post the “Sawtooth Salt-box” container home idea next week so do keep an eye out for that.
    Well I got to go – my dogs chasing a transport truck out front.

  3. Shar permalink
    September 9, 2012 10:33 pm

    I really enjoyed reading your blog it was very informative and gave me some great ideas. My husband and I are in process of planning out our dream container home what program did you use to make your floor plans?
    Thanks
    Shar

Leave a Reply

